Books

The Almond Review.


Few years ago, I received an email from Goodreads.com that I won a book (signed by the author herself) on a book giveaway that I joined. in return, we are expected to write a review about that book.

When I got the book and read what’s in the back cover, it’s about a boy and his family struggling for their life, blah blah. On the author’s autograph, she mentioned about battle and humanity; things I’m not interested to. I kept the book in my shelf for years.

Few months ago, I’ve decided to start reading it. On the first few pages, an accident already happened, someone died. I already got hook.

The novel, revolves on war, family, and education. The lead character Ichmad, has a gift of mind but he experienced every cruel thing that life can give. Lost his loved ones, not once, twice, but four times. Saw his father captured by soldiers (on his birthday) for something his father is innocent to. Build house for their family and losing it a lot of times. Quit studying to work for their family at an early age. Got nothing to eat. Went to school with old, worn-out clothes.

With all of these, with the help of a teacher, he had manage to get back to school, worked abroad and won a Nobel prize.

In the novel, Gaza was mentioned. I was intrigued by how the author described the place. A dying place. I searched the Web, and found that the author’s description is somehow true in real life. My heart broke seeing what war and terrorism made them. As I continued to read the book, I pity them – the kids who are supposed to start their lives seems like already ended theirs as early as now.

Overall, I’m giving the book a thumbs up! I was moved and inspired. The book tells everyone that nothing is impossible if you work for it. And take a risk.

I’ve learned that life isn’t about what happens to you, but about how you choose to react to it. – Ichmad Hamid

20150118-215353-78833843.jpg

Leave a Reply

