Movies

12:00 in Paris


That’s what the present is. It’s a little unsatisfying because life is unsatisfying.

– Gil Pender, Midnight in Paris, 2011

Lovely. Awesome. Stunning. Classic.

Words to simply describe the movie, Midnight in Paris (2011).

I haven’t read the plot of the story but I decided to watch it because of Rachel McAdams. By just looking at the cast, you’ll already know that it’s a comedy romance kind of film but when I started watching it, I can see that it’s more of a classic film, well for me.

I love the film because it shows the struggles of a writer and that the setting keeps on going back to the 1920s.

First, the writer thing. I, myself is a desperate writer. Yes, you read it right. I took up Communication because I wanted to be a journalist but my interest changed when I found myself getting bored and not learning anything in our subject, Print Media (Sorry, Ma’am B). I then realized, maybe I don’t want Journalism. Hence, my frustrations in writing is still there. I have a lot of stories in my mind which I find useless if I don’t write it down. So I tried writing a short story, chick lit genre, and let two of my friends read it. Both of them have the same reactions, bitin, minadali, kulang. I believed them because it’s true. I find it hard to supply information in the middle parts of the story. When I have story in mind, I have an introduction and ending, but the middle parts is a blank.

Let me just remind you, I’m not, yet, a good writer, I don’t think I’m born with the talent, I often commit grammatical errors, I don’t have creative mind like those of J.K. Rowling, Paulo Coelho and others; Nevertheless, I want to write, and I don’t know why.

Moving on…

The second reason why I love the movie, is that it shows the 1920s era. It brings back the nostalgic me. Don’t you just love the past era where everything is so classic, the music, clothes, streets, the people? Back in those days where technology doesn’t dominate people, where girls’ clothes are so conservative and sophisticated yet elegant, where the noise that dominates the streets are horse’s footsteps and not cars blowing their horns. Me, I always find myself stunned whenever I watch a foreign movie that goes back in the 18th and early 19th century; Les Miserables and Little Women to name a few.

 

And oh, I forgot to say my third reason why I love the film. It’s in Paris, need I say more?

Adriana: I can never decide whether Paris is more beautiful by day or by night.
Gil: No, you can’t, you couldn’t pick one. I mean I can give you a checkmate argument for each side. You know, I sometimes think, how is anyone ever gonna come up with a book, or a painting, or a symphony, or a sculpture that can compete with a great city. You can’t. Because you look around and every street, every boulevard, is its own special art form and when you think that in the cold, violent, meaningless universe that Paris exists, these lights, I mean come on, there’s nothing happening on Jupiter or Neptune, but from way out in space you can see these lights, the cafés, people drinking and singing. For all we know, Paris is the hottest spot in the universe.

Leave a Reply

