Books

Can you handle it? No Strings Attached.


Should I say that I wasn’t that kind of girl?

… Maybe I was that kind of girl. I kissed him back.

That awkward moment when you’re reading a book and you can see yourself in the image of the lead character, as if that character is based on yourself. How amazing, I may say.

That’s what I felt while reading Mina Esguerra’s “No String Attached. I can see myself in Carla’s (the lead character) situation: falling in love with someone younger, wanted to explore the no-strings-attached field, choosing the not-so-serious-type-of-guy over the too-good-too-perfect-guy, and blah blah blah.  The next thing I know is that I’m marking statements that I can relate to, and it seems like my book became a lecture book in school – with all the highlighter’s marks.

My dating history up until this point was kind of blah. My friends told me I was too picky, but that wasn’t it. Besides, it wasn’t all my fault.

…but there was something that felt strange about the whole thing. It couldn’t  be this easy. There was a catch somewhere, and I was afraid to find out.

I hate the dating game. I hate it when guys go through the courtship dance because it’s proper…

So far we were consistent in not being very compatible. Why were we together again?

Sometimes I just needed to vent, you know? I knew what had to be done, but sometimes I just wanted to let my frustrations out. It helped me calm down.

These were things that friends should know, but I didn’t know how to deal with the questions that were going to follow. Because there were some things I wasn’t sure about myself.

I wished I could  tell her that this guy — someone she never would have chosen for me — was making me so happy. That I had no idea how long it would last, but at least it wasn’t full of doubt and drama.

“You know why I didn’t tell you about him? Because I knew you’d be like this. Not everyone wants to be in your kind of relationship.”

I’m just sick of her and everyone doing this to me. Like I don’t know any better. What gives them the right? Worried about me. Worried about me! Im sick of her and everyone else doing this to me. So what gives her the right to tell me what kind of guy I should date, right? What does she know? You know what she’s an expert on? Giving unsolicited advice. She does it to everyone. For as long as I’ve known her, she’s been telling me what to do.

“You had a great time with him. But you know you can have this again and again. With other people. It doesn’t have to be just this guy.”

It’s not about just having a guy in my life, or a younger guy. I want this guy. At least to talk to me again.

The author of the book finds inspiration in the people she meets and the places she visits. So the answer to the question, “Is this story based on you?” is often, “No.” (About the Author, No Strings Attached, pg 148)

Leave a Reply

