Books

Something Better.


Excerpt from Joshua Harris’ Boy Meets Girl.

Growing up, I always hoped that when I saw the girl I was going to marry, it would be love at first sight. As it turned out, my chance for a “love at first sight moment” went right over my head.

On the Sunday I heard Shannon tell her story, I happened to be interested in a girl named Rachel. In fact, I was sitting next to Rachel’s mother that morning. When Shannon finished speaking, Rachel’s mom leaned over and noted what a “cute girl” Shannon was, a remark that I now find very ironic.

God had set me up.

As I sat there next to the mother of my plan for my future, God was parading His plan for my future right in front of my eyes. He had mapped a course for me that was more wonderful than anything I could come up with on my own, and He was making sure that in the days to come I would never question that this good plan had originated in His mind.

Three months later Shannon and I wound up working together at the church office. We hit it off right away, but I wasn’t thinking about anything beyond friendship. When someone asked me if I was interested in her, I thought the question was silly. Shannon was a terrific girl, I said, but not the kind of person I envisioned marrying. Besides, our backgrounds were too different. She was a new Christian from a broken home. I’d probably marry someone who had been homeschooled and raised in the church like I had-someone like Rachel.

But over the next six months my plans for a future with Rachel began to unravel like a cheap sweater. I remember the afternoon I found out that she liked another guy. Rachel and I had only been friends, and she hadn’t led me on, but it still hurt. I needed to talk to God. I shut my office door; but that didn’t seem private enough, so I squeezed myself into my small office closet and pulled the door shut.

There in the darkness I started to cry. I wasn’t mad at Rachel; I wasn’t bitter. I cried because I knew God was behind it all. He was the one who had closed the door on a relationship with Rachel, and He’d done it for my good. I was over-whelmed by the thought that the God of the universe was willing to be involved in the details of my life-that He’d be willing to reach down and shut a door that He didn’t want me to walk through.

Still crying, I began to thank Him. “I don’t understand, but I thank You,” I said. “I don’t understand, but I know You are good. I don’t understand, but I know You’re taking this away because You have something better.”

That day was a turning point. I stopped trusting in my own carefully laid plans and asked God to show me His.

 

2 thoughts on “Something Better.

  1. Wow! This book is awesome! and this line was touching: ” I was over-whelmed by the thought that the God of the universe was willing to be involved in the details of my life-that He’d be willing to reach down and shut a door that He didn’t want me to walk through.”

    Keep reading!:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

